• Bombos2
Select a contact:
Contact image
Integrated Doctor | Professor Emerita | President Emerita of INET-md
Faculdade de Ciências Sociais e Humanas | Universidade Nova de Lisboa
Av. de Berna, n.º 26 C
1069-061 Lisboa
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Tel: (+351) 21 790 83 00 (ext. 1583)



I am Professor Emerita of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities, NOVA University of Lisbon (FCSH-UNL) and president Emerita of the Instituto de Etnomusicologia-Centro de Estudos em Música e Dança (INET-md), a research unit that I founded in 1995 and directed up to 2020. I was elected President of the International Council for Traditional Music (2013 - 2021). I earned a Ph.D. in Ethnomusicology in 1980 at Columbia University. My academic career was launched at New York University where I was a tenure-track Assistant Professor from 1979 to 1981, founded and directed an MA program in urban ethnomusicology. I was Associate Professor at the newly founded Musicology Department at NOVA-FCSH, completed my habilitation in 1986 and won a full professorship in 1988, the first in musicology in Portugal. I chaired the Musicology Department during its foundational and consolidation phases (1983-1988; 1995-1997). I was visiting professor at Columbia University, Princeton University; Tinker Professor at Chicago University, Overseas Visiting Scholar at St. John's College, Cambridge University and Gulbenkian Visiting Professor at the University of California, Berkeley. I carried out field research in Portugal, Egypt and Oman resulting in publications on: cultural politics, musical nationalism, music heritage, music media, music and conflict, and institutional and disciplinary histories.

My main publications include: Music and the Making of Portugal and Spain: Nationalism and Identity Politics in the Iberian Peninsula (Ed. and co-author) with Matthew Machin-Autenrieth and Samuel Llano. Illinois University Press (2023); "The Fado Museum: Heritage Infrastructure or Tourist Attraction?" (with Iñigo Sánchez Fuarros), Via Tourism Review 23 (2023); "Sustainability, Agency and the Ecologies of Music Heritage in Alentejo, Portugal, in Music, Communities and Sustainability: Developing Policies and Practices, edited by Anthony Seeger and Huib Schippers. Oxford University Press (2022); Outros celtas: celtismo, modernidade e música global em Portugal e Espanha (Ed. and co-author with Susana Moreno Fernández & António Medeiros, chapter author. Tinta-da-China (2022). Transforming Ethnomusicology, 2 vols (Ed. and co-author with Beverly Diamond. Oxford University Press (2021); Portugal and Spain: Experiencing Music, Expressing Culture with Susana Moreno Fernàndez. Oxford University Press (2018); "Jazz, Race and Politics in Colonial Portugal: Discourses and Representations (1924-1971)", with Pedro Roxo (2016), in Philip Bohlman and Goffredo Plastino (eds.) Jazz Worlds/World Jazz. Chicago University Press (2016); "The Politics of Music Categorization in Portugal" in Philip Bohlman (ed.) The Cambridge History of World Music. Cambridge University Press (2013); Enciclopédia da Música em Portugal no Século XX (4 vols) (ed.). Círculo de Leitores/Temas e Debates (2010); Music and Conflict (co-editor with John O'Connell and author of the Epilogue). Illinois University Press (2010); Traditional Arts in Southern Arabia: Music and Society in Sohar, Sultanate of Oman (with Dieter Christensen). VWB Verlag für Wissenschaft und Bildung (2009).

Past academic responsibilities include: President of INET-md (1995 -2020); Vice President of the Society for Ethnomusicology (2007-2009) and of the International Council for Traditional Music (1997-2001 ; 2009-2013); Vice Chancellor of the Universidade Nova de Lisboa (2007-2009).

Awards: Glarean Award for music research of the Swiss Musicological Society (2013), the Gold & Silver Medals for Cultural merit of the City Halls of Lisbon and Cascais, respectively (2012 & 2007), the Pro-Author Award of the Portuguese Authors' Society (2010), and a decoration of the Egyptian Minister of Culture (2019), Merit Prize awarded by INATEL (Portugal)|Multiculturalism (2021); Scientific Merit Award of the Foundation of Science and Technology, Portugal (2022); Honorary Member of the International Council for Traditional Music (2023).